September was a busy month!

Well, I’ve accomplished a few big things over this past month, even though I haven’t been updating this blog as often as I had planned. Let’s go ahead and list these things out.

1. I am engaged! After two years of dating my wonderful fiancee, I proposed to her on September 7th. We’ve been making a lot of progress as far as wedding planning goes, too. Our venue was booked in a week and honestly, we probably have most of the big details figured out already.

2. I’ve been hired by the University of Oklahoma to work in cancer research! While my duties won’t have much to do with my field, OU does provide some incentives for students working through their degree, and it does seem like it will work well with my study schedule. I’m very excited to get this going.

3. As of yesterday, I have an apartment all ready to go! It didn’t have the best reviews online, but it didn’t have the worst, either. My fiancee and I honestly aren’t too picky, and we were big fans of a layout that gave us both an extra room to use as a study and guest room, so I won’t have to work on my homework in the same room that I sleep nor in the same room that the TV occupies.

The last two lead up to something that isn’t necessarily an accomplishment right now, but more like a clarification for my current direction. I’m going to be aiming for OU’s Electrical Engineering program. While it doesn’t seem to transfer as smoothly from Tulsa Community College as Oklahoma State would, I do feel better about this move. First of all, it was really looking like OSU was closing their Tulsa program for EE. This left us with three options. We could stay in town with the University of Tulsa, and just hope that we have the funding to pay whatever the student loans can’t touch. We could of course transfer to Stillwater, but that’s a college town with very few stable job prospects, especially within OSU itself. And then there’s the option I’m going with, the University of Oklahoma.

This necessitated the move down to the Oklahoma City area from Tulsa. And that’s kind of a bummer, because frankly, I like Tulsa quite a bit, as much of a Thunder fan as I am. But this is progress, and I’m very excited to be starting out on this little adventure. We also have some very nice features nearby, including a Homeland, a newly-built library, and some nicer parts of Edmond. Also another bonus of OKC: I can look into the University of Central Oklahoma’s program in Biomedical Engineering. Yes, it is ABET-accredited, albeit their only engineering program. Still, it is a bit closer to our new apartment, and also even a little cheaper than OU, especially once you figure out the gas costs!

So that’s that. I feel like I’m leaving out an important piece of news, but I’ll just make another post if that’s the case. I did get a new keyboard for my iPad, which I used to type out this post. It did a surprisingly good job, and because it now has my beloved tablet in a chokehold, it might coerce me to write my updates more usually. Woohoo!

Leave a Reply

