IEEE Renewal

Well, it’s that time of year again. Just renewed my IEEE student membership for my second year. I must say, the IEEE Spectrum and Potentials magazines are very informative for being included, and so I added on some society memberships to receive even more journals and magazines.

They also give access to the IEEE Xplore online archives, with decades of papers and articles articles available depending on which societies you join. Unfortunately, it’s tedious to search through these databases, as it appears you can’t search within only the publications you can access. I also wish it was easier to access the articles on a tablet; currently the only real option is to download the PDF files and then transfer them over. 

Even though I am disappointed with how inaccessible the IEEE Xplore database makes itself, I am quite excited to read the articles. One journal I am particularly looking forward to receiving is the Biomedical Circuits and Systems Journal, though the papers on instrumentation are very interesting as well. And another bonus: even more magazines!

Leave a Reply

