Homemade LED’s + School Update

The summer semester has started already, and it looks like it will be an entertaining one! I am taking two classes. In Engineering Design with CAD, we will be learning the design process as well as fleshing out a few projects in SolidWorks. I’m also taking a C++ programming class, and am hoping that I may improve my programming skills in general. The last time I really programmed was on my TI 83+ calculator, so I have a lot to catch up on!

Anyways, to the homemade LED’s!

Here’s a link to a site describing how to use Silicon Carbide to form an LED. I’ve been wanting to play around with homemade semiconductors after working with transistors, so this seems like a great place to start.

Now in this link, he broke apart a crystal cluster for the SiC. An eBay search brings up not only the beautiful crystals he described, but also lots of powdered SiC, of various grit, for rock polishing. It makes me wonder if it would be possible to order it in this form. Although, it would be nice to have the rest of the rock laying around.

Leave a Reply

